top of page
  • Dan Powers

UNAVCO Announces New Board Directors

UNAVCO, as a university-governed consortium, elected new members to the Board of Directors and Nominating Committee. New members serve 3-year terms beginning January 2021. Board Directors are responsible for managing the business and affairs of UNAVCO, Inc.

UNAVCO supports the exploration of our changing Earth through data acquisition, data access, community science meetings, short courses, internships, and educational resources. They operate the National Science Foundation Geodetic Facility for the Advancement of Geoscience (GAGE). More>>>

President Becks Bendick thanks everyone involved: “I’m so grateful to all of the members of our community who stepped forward to run for governance positions. Their commitment and the high level of engagement of geodesists in our elections and community events this fall remind me of how special community-led science can be, and how much we gain by working together toward shared goals. I’m similarly appreciative of the contributions of our outgoing Board Directors—Lucy Flesch, Ed Nissen, James Foster, and Emma Hill. Without their leadership, the future prospects of shared geophysics resources might be very different. Finally, a big welcome to the incoming 2021 Board and Nominating Committee; I’m excited and humbled to work with such amazing and visionary scientists.

Adrian Borsa, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, was reelected to the Board and is joined by new members: Roland Bürgmann (University of California, Berkeley), Gareth Funning (University of California, Riverside), Bridget Smith-Konter (University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa), and Leigh Stearns (University of Kansas).

Continuing Board Directors include: Ronni Grapenthin (University of Alaska, Fairbanks), Tonie Van Dam (University of Utah), Laura Wallace (University of Texas Institute of Geophysics and GNS Science, New Zealand), and Terry Wilson (The Ohio State University).

The Nominating Committee is charged with identifying the Board Director nominees and slate of candidates for the annual election. Newly elected members Eileen Evans (California State University, Northridge) and William Hammond (University of Nevada, Reno) join continuing members Julie Elliott (Purdue University) and Rowena Lohman (Cornell University).

9 views1 comment

1 комментарий

Неизвестный пользователь
28 янв. 2022 г.

assignment help you need to first submit your myassignmenthelp topic to us. Fill out the order form correctly, mention every minute details in it. assignment writing help have any additional demands,provide that too. Move on the two-second step.

CO-LABS Promote Educate Connect log
bottom of page